FERC Order 1000 Extension Request (Filed August 17, 2012)

Background

The Southeastern Regional Transmission Planning (SERTP) process members currently include Southern Company, Georgia Transmission Corporation (GTC), MEAG Power, Dalton Utilities, South Mississippi Electric Power Association (SMEPA), and PowerSouth Energy Cooperative.

The Central Public Power Partners (CPPP) is a non-jurisdictional planning region currently comprised of transmission owners that include Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), Associated Electric Cooperative Inc. (AECI), and East Kentucky Power Co-op (EKPC).

TVA and AECI, along with Louisville Gas and Electric Company and Kentucky Utilities Company (LGE and KU) and Ohio Valley Electric Corporation (OVEC), have expressed interest in joining the SERTP and adopting the SERTP regional planning process proposal for purposes of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC) Order 1000, which addresses transmission planning and cost allocation.

The involved parties are in the process of moving forward with activities necessary to expand the SERTP region and develop a consistent process per FERC Order 1000 regional requirements. FERC jurisdictional entities include Southern, LGE and KU and OVEC. The remaining current SERTP members, along with TVA and AECI, would likely enroll in the SERTP process, as outlined FERC Order 1000-A. Each entity operates in a bi-lateral type market and is a member of the SERC reliability region (except for OVEC – who is a member of the Reliability First Corporation region).

Southern, LGE and KU and OVEC are requesting an extension of time, beyond the regional compliance filing due date of Oct. 11, 2012, required by FERC's Order 1000, to complete the activities necessary to move forward with the development of an expanded SERTP region. The expanded SERTP would become one of the largest regions in the Eastern Interconnection including portions of some 12 states and approximately 66,000 miles of transmission lines.